When I was 11, I remember vividly wishing that I was older and that being 16 was so far off into the future. I look back at that now, and I scream at my younger self to take it back.

Being a teenager is one of the weirdest times of your life. You’re not a kid anymore, but you aren’t really an adult. Younger kids look at you like you’re ancient, and adults look at you like you’re still really young and stupid like a younger kid.

Am I an adult in a kid’s body, or am I kid in an adult body? Who truly knows?

Why are so many of the fun activities in public programs only go from grade 4 to grade 8? Why aren’t there more activities for teens? Not all of us want to go out drinking with friends and getting wasted or high.

Why is every single youth group on Thursday? Is it illegal to have a youth group on a Friday or Saturday?

A ship carries cargo, and we ship things in a car. Who on earth was the dude that thought that this was a bright idea?

Silver hair is glitter stands growing from your scalp.  So that means all of us turn magical at a certain age.

Sleeping is just basically a body going still for a couple of hours as it hallucinates.

Singing is organized screaming. (this made me laugh harder than it should’ve)

Writing is just taking a bunch of symbols that is mutually agreed upon by a group of people for standing for something, then rearranging those symbols to communicate.

Art is drawing lines to make shapes, then making the shapes look visually appealing.

Talking s the art of making certain sounds with your mouth hole and vocal chords.

Laughing is gutteral noises that humans make when we think something is funny.

 

Well… this was a much different post than usual. I guess I’m breaking the mold this month. Consider it the break between the anime post and my usual list of self-help posts yet to come. And as usual, thanks for taking time out of your day to read!

~Felicity Annora.

