Happy New Year! -Stickin’ with those resolutions

Old has gone, and the new has come- how exciting! People write down their resolutions, start going to the gym again, and renew their efforts to try to be a better person than what they were the year before. All of it can be fun the first few days, but once the rush of excitement has died down, it’s almost inevitable that you’ll revert back to your old ways.

I know that I sure as heck don’t want that to happen. I’ve come too far to slide back into my old habits, and I don’t want to waste any time trying to gain back the ground that I’ve lost- whether it be personality related, work related, or health related. So I’ve figured out a few things about myself to help keep myself in check and on my toes throughout the entire year rather than just at the start of it. A few of these rules may apply to a few of you also, but if they don’t and you don’t struggle with any of these, that’s completely fine. In fact, give yourself a pat on the back! Just about everything I list down below are important to stay consistant and complete your yearly resolutions!

 

  1. I create easier resolutions to boost self esteem, then create hard ones to constantly keep myself motivated.

The basic concept of this rule is that I’m trying to train myself to make small, good things into habits, then once I’m feeling proud of my accomplishment, I move onto the harder resolutions. That rush of dopamine I get from accomplishing the small task will encourage me to move forward and onward to the potential difficult tasks I set for myself in the future. If I finish one project, I’m more than likely to finish another.

 

2.  If I fail, I keep trying again.

One of the problems that a few people face is that if they fail in the middle of, say, one one of their healthy resolutions, they think to themselves, “Well, I messed up once. What’s the harm in doing again?”

The problem with this mindset is that it sets you up for failure. We’re human and we’re going to mess up sometimes, but don’t use this as an excuse to stop trying altogether.

 

 

3.  I try to stick with it even when I don’t want to.

There will be some days where I won’t be able to stick with my resolutions for a reason or for another, but I’m going to try my darnedest. Even when I don’t want to. Like I don’t really like excercising some days or I’m super tired, but it will be so worth it when  start seeing and feeling the results later on down the line.

 

4. Instead of saying “Later,” do it immediately.

Procrastination feels good for the moment, but it usually leads to headaches later on. I can barely even think of a situation where this doesn’t apply. Your homework, your job, your house chores, dealing with your personal relationships, your health, your taxes- if it’s important or has the potential to influence your future in a huge way, don’t put it off for too long. The same goes for your resolutions!

 

So those are just a few things that come to my mind immediately to help you stick with your resolutions. Thanks so much for your time and looking at this post!

 

~Felicity Annora, 2017

One thought on “Happy New Year! -Stickin’ with those resolutions

Add yours

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Living Outside the Lines

Finding the Write Life

E.E. Rawls Writes

Fantasy author, books and life

A Happy Landing

Stories. Words. Food. Fandoms. Occasional Randomness.

Gethsemane Rose

My thoughts on life as a Christian